Masters: Tiger Gets a Reprieve


AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) — Tiger Woods got a reprieve Saturday in the Masters when he was given a two-shot penalty for a bad drop but allowed to stay in the tournament.

Woods' shot on the 15th hole of the second round hit the flag stick and bounced back into the water. He took his penalty drop two yards behind where he hit the original shot, which was a violation of the rules.

Augusta National added the two-shot penalty to his score, meaning he had a 73 instead of a 71 and now is five shots out of the lead. Officials said he was allowed to stay in the tournament under a new rule that keeps players from being disqualified based on television evidence.

Click for related articles:

"Tiger Finishes Fourth, as Adam Scott Becomes First Aussie to Win Masters Title"

"Masters: Woods' Drop under Review, Faces Possible Disqualification"

"Masters 2nd Rd: Tiger Moves up to Seventh Place"

"Masters 3rd Round: Tiger Overcomes Penalty, Still in Contention"

"Tiger Woods Tied for 12th Place in Masters Opening Round"

18 total views, 2 views today

Masters: Tiger Gets a Reprieve

Comments

Latest Tweets

    Message: Rate limit exceeded, Please check your Twitter Authentication Data or internet connection.