Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published August 04, 2011

GOVERNOR O’MALLEY NAMES MEMBERS TO THE Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council

Council to coordinate integration of electric vehicles into Maryland communities

ANNAPOLIS, MD (August 4, 2011) – Governor O’Malley today named representatives of automobile manufacturers and dealers, electrical vehicle (EV) charging manufacturers, utilities, electrical workers, State and local governments, and environmental and energy experts to plan and coordinate the successful integration of electric vehicles into Maryland’s communities and transportation system. The EV Infrastructure Council was created by legislation introduced by the Governor in the 2011 Session (House Bill 167/Senate Bill 176) as part of a package of bills to promote electric vehicles.

“Clean cars create jobs,” said Governor O’Malley. “The Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council includes an extraordinarily talented and experienced group of advocates who will help Maryland take the next steps in supporting the roll-out of electric vehicles and infrastructure. The Council will play an important role in coordinating State and local policies that make electric vehicle ownership convenient and economical, create green jobs, and achieve a cleaner, healthier, and more energy independent Maryland. Creating and saving jobs is every Marylander’s business.”

The EV Infrastructure Council is charged with developing statewide standards for streamlined permitting and installation of EV charging stations and supply equipment, developing targeted policies to support fleet purchases for electric vehicles, developing charging solutions for existing and future multi-dwelling units, and increasing consumer awareness and demand for electric vehicles. The Council will submit an interim report on its work and recommendations by January 1, 2012 and a final report by December 1, 2012.

The Council consists of the following members appointed by the Governor:

-Maryland Deputy Secretary of Transportation Darrell B. Mobley who will serve as Chair of the Council;
-Senator Robert Garagiola;
-Delegate Brian McHale
-Delegate James Malone;
-Z. Andrew Farkas, Ph.D., professor and director for the National Transportation Center at Morgan State University;
-Jill Sorensen, executive-director of the Baltimore-Washington Electric Vehicle Initiative (BEVI);
-John J. Murach, Jr., director of Business Planning and Corporate Performance at Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.;
-William Gausman, senior vice president for Strategic Initiatives at Pepco Holdings, Inc.;
-Jim Kiley, regional director of State Government Relations for General Motors Corporation;
-Colleen Quinn, vice president for Government Relations and Public Policy at Coulomb Technologies, Inc.;
-Chris Lepp, electric vehicle infrastructure sales leader for GE Industrial Solutions;
-Malvin Nolen Duncan, Jr., sales project manager for Holt Electrical Contractors, Inc.;
-Frederick Hilton Hoover, Jr., Esq., private attorney and former director of the Maryland Energy Administration;
-Steven Arabia, government relations manager for NRG Energy, Inc.;
-Marisa Shockley, president of the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association;
and Gary Skulnik, Co-Founder of Clean Currents, LLC;
-Robert N. Rollins, Jr, fleet maintenance and management division chief for Calvert County;
-Theodore Atwood, director of general services for Baltimore City;
-Daryl Braithwaite, director of public works for the City of Takoma Park; and,
-The Honorable Kelly M. Russell, alderman for the City of Frederick.

Below are some other electric vehicle transportation initiatives:

Electric Vehicle Excise Tax Credit
In 2010 the legislature passed a credit against the motor vehicle excise tax for certain qualified plug–in electric drive vehicles purchased between July 1, 2010 and June 30, 2013. This is a three year program and each vehicle is eligible for up to $2,000. This program is paid for by the Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) utilizing money from the Strategic Energy Investment Fund.

Electric Vehicle Charging Station Tax Credit
This statute allows a State income tax credit for tax years 2011, 2012, and 2013 only, for 20% of the cost of qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment placed in service by a taxpayer during a taxable year up to $400. This program is paid for by MEA utilizing money from the Strategic Energy Investment Fund.

HOV Lane Use
The HOV lane use statute authorizes the use of high occupancy vehicle (HOV) lanes, regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle, by certain plug–in electric vehicles like the Chevy Volt and Nissan Leaf.

Electric Vehicle Charging Pilot Program
The Electric Vehicle Pilot Program requires the Public Service Commission to establish a pilot program for charging electric vehicles by June 30, 2013. This program allows utilities to participate and requires that they include incentives for residential, commercial, and governmental customers to recharge electric vehicles in ways that will accomplish specified goals namely modifying behavior so that recharging occurs during off peak hours.

Electric Vehicle Recharging Station Grants
The Maryland Energy Administration created a grant program in early 2010 to aid the installation of electric vehicle recharging stations. MEA issued two grants under this program totaling $594,000. Seventy-eight stations are estimated to be installed by the end of summer 2011.

Maryland Hybrid Truck Initiative (MHTI)
The Maryland Energy Administration has partnered with Maryland Clean Cities and the high profile fleets of ARAMARK, Efficiency Enterprises, Nestlé Waters North America, Sysco Corporation, and United Parcel Service to facilitate the implementation of the largest collaborative heavy-duty hybrid truck project in the nation. This project, known as the Maryland Hybrid Truck Initiative (MHTI), will utilize $5.9 million in grant funding to help offset the incremental cost to purchase and deploy 143 Freightliner hybrid electric vehicles and Freightliner Custom Chassis hydraulic hybrid vehicles designed to meet the operational demands of local goods movement fleets. This project is estimated to save 134,000 gallons of diesel fuel per year.

PSC case 9261- regulatory treatment of charging stations
The Public Service Commission opened Case No. 9261 in early 2011 to investigate the regulatory treatment of providers of electric vehicle charging stations and related services. The results of this case will provide clarity to the private market by establishing rules and regulation that private market participants will have to follow in the State of Maryland.