Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published January 26, 2012

Comptroller’s Branch Offices Say ‘No’ to Cash

- Beginning February 1, Most Branch Offices Won’t Accept Cash Payments -

Annapolis, Md. (January 26, 2012) – Beginning February 1, 11 of the 12 Comptroller’s branch offices will no longer accept cash payments from taxpayers.

“This is a safety issue,” said Comptroller Peter Franchot. “The volume of business at our branch offices has grown, and with it, an increase in the amount of cash to be deposited each night. Asking employees to transport large sums of cash on a daily basis puts them at risk. By no longer accepting cash, it helps to ensure the safety of the branch office employees as well as taxpayers.”

Taxpayers often use the agency’s branch offices to pay fees for licenses, tax liabilities and other related items. Starting Wednesday, 11 of the branch offices will only accept payments by certified check, cashier’s check, teller’s check or money order. The only branch office that will continue to accept cash payments is the Baltimore location. Taxpayers can also pay existing tax liabilities online at .

The Comptroller encourages all Marylanders to file personal income tax returns online this year. Taxpayers with a balance due who file electronically by April 18, have until April 30 to make an electronic payment, using direct debit or a credit card. Electronic payment options eliminate postage costs, the potential for lost mail and possible penalties for late payments.

Maryland taxpayers can pay via debit card at or credit card at For a list of branch offices please visit