Home News Inauguration 2013
Originally published May 17, 2013

Civil Rights Awards Recognize Powerful Leaders

by AFRO Staff

  •   Click on the photo to view additional Photos.
    Pamela “Miss Maybelle” Leak, Anthony McCarthy and Michele Brown from Sen. Barbara Mikulski’s office. (Courtesy Photo)

Story Tools
Share |

There are currently 0 comments.

Be the next to make a comment.

Post a comment


AFRO Black History Archives
Check out related stories, research genealogies, or peruse all that our archives have to offer.

Click Here to get started!

A sold out crowd of more than 150 people gathered for the presentation of The Anthony McCarthy Civil Rights Awards, May 10, at La Fontaine Bleu banquet hall in Glen Burnie.

Sponsored by the non-profit ItSuitsYou.Org, the 2013 event honored author Taylor Branch, Rep. Elijah Cummings, NAACP President Tessa Hill-Aston, Latino advocate Ricardo Martinez, community leader Dr. Helena Hicks and Archbishop Carl Bean, founder of the Unity Fellowship Church. The awards are named for former AFRO American editor and WEAA talk show host Anthony McCarthy.

There are no comments at this time.