Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published April 21, 2010

Franchot Announces Baltimore County Steering Committee
Leaders from across the County sign on as co-chairs

April 21, 2010 (Silver Spring, Md.) –   Praising his record as a strong voice for Maryland taxpayers and an independent fiscal watchdog, a diverse group of elected and civic leaders from across Baltimore County have endorsed Comptroller Peter Franchot’s re-election campaign and joined his countywide steering committee.  The Committee will be co-chaired by five of the county’s most respected elected officials: State Senators Robert Zirkin and Katherine Klausmeier, State Delegates Adrienne Jones and James Malone, and Register of Wills Grace Connolly.

“Peter Franchot has demonstrated that he is one of the nation’s most innovative and effective Comptrollers,” said Senator Zirkin.  “He has remained true to his promise to be an independent voice and strong advocate for the Maryland taxpayer.  Under his leadership, the Comptroller’s Office has become a national model for taxpayer service and compliance.  I am proud to be part of his reelection team and I know Baltimore County will come out strong for Peter Franchot.”

Over his first term, Comptroller Franchot has earned state and national recognition for his commitment to make the state tax filing process more user-friendly, as well as his aggressive efforts to identify and collect delinquent tax revenues that are owed to the State of Maryland.  Under his leadership, a record number of Maryland taxpayers have paid their taxes electronically and opted for direct deposit, which saves the State millions in processing costs while enabling families throughout Maryland to receive their state refunds in 2-3 business days. 

Meanwhile, Comptroller Franchot's efforts to crack down on tax avoidance schemes such as the Captive REIT deduction and Delaware Holding Companies have recaptured hundreds of millions of dollars for the State of Maryland in the midst of difficult fiscal times. 

“I am extremely proud to have these distinguished public servants support me during this reelection campaign,” said Comptroller Franchot.  “They represent the diversity and the excellence of Baltimore County. I promised the residents of Baltimore County that I would stand up for them as an independent voice, and I believe I have lived up to that promise.  With their support, I will continue to ensure that the tax laws of Maryland are enforced aggressively and that everyone pays their fair share.  I will also remain a vigilant fiscal watchdog, making sure that Maryland maintains a prudent fiscal course and opposing wasteful and inappropriate spending.”

Senator Zirkin was elected to the Maryland State Senate in 2006 after serving two terms in the House of Delegates.  He represents the 11th Legislative District which includes communities such as Owings Mills and Pikesville.  He serves on the Budget and Taxation Committee and its Public Safety, Transportation & Environment Subcommittee.

Senator Klausmeier was elected to the Maryland State Senate in 2002 after serving two terms in the House of Delegates.  She represents the 8th Legislative District which includes Baltimore County communities such as Perry Hall and Parkville.  She serves as a member of the Finance Committee and chairs the Senate Rules Committee.   

Delegate Jones has served in the House of Delegates since 1997.  She represents the 10th Legislative District, which includes communities such as Randallstown and Woodlawn. She is the current Speaker <> Pro Tem <> of the Maryland House of Delegates <> , the first African-American <> woman to hold that prestigious position.  In addition to being Speaker Pro Tem, she is a member of the House Appropriations Committee and serves as Chairman of the Capital Budget Subcommittee.

Delegate Malone was first elected to the House of Delegates in 1994 and represents Legislative District 12A, which includes Baltimore County communities such as Catonsville and Arbutus.  He currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Environmental Matters Committee, and chairs its Motor Vehicles and Transportation Subcommittee.

“Comptroller Franchot promised to be a tough fiscal watchdog who would make sure that taxpayer dollars are being invested wisely and appropriately, and he has followed through,” said Delegate Malone.  “He has demanded fiscal accountability as a member of the Board of Public Works, and he has led by example through the cost-efficient management of his own agency.  I look forward to helping the Comptroller share his successful record with the people of Baltimore County over the coming months.”

Register of Wills Connolly was first elected to serve as Baltimore County’s Register of Wills in 1998.  Prior to her election, she served as a Chief Judge of the Baltimore County Orphans’ Court.  Connolly is well respected throughout the county and among her peers, who elected her to serve as Vice-President of the Maryland Register of Wills Association.

For a full list of the Baltimore County Steering Committee, please visit <> .