Home News Baltimore News Originally published November 13, 2013

100 Black Women Elects McNeill-Emery as National President

by AFRO Staff

    McNeill-Emery, National President of The National Coalition of 100 Black Women. (Courtesy Photo)
Story Tools
Share |

There are currently 0 comments.

Be the next to make a comment.

Post a comment


AFRO Black History Archives
Check out related stories, research genealogies, or peruse all that our archives have to offer.

Click Here to get started!

The National Coalition of 100 Black Women elected Michele McNeill-Emery of Baltimore as its new national president during 16th biennial conference at the Monte Carlo Resort and Casino, Oct. 9-13. Michele succeeds M. DeLois Strum formerly of Indianapolis, now of Annapolis, who served as the organization’s president for four years.

The Coalition, a 32-year old organization that advocates on behalf of women of color through national and local actions and strategic alliances has chartered over 75 chapters, in 25 states and has a current membership of some 7500 women.

Upon being elected McNeill-Emery said, “I am honored and humbled to have been selected to lead this wonderfully diverse group of socially conscience women over the next two years as we continue to speak up and speak out about the social injustices that still exist in the areas of health, education and economic empowerment not only in our own communities but across this country.”

The new president is a seasoned health care administrator with over 30 years of progressive management experience and is currently a practice administrator with Johns Hopkins Community Physicians.

Michele is an active member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, where she has served as the national second vice president, is a past president of the Baltimore Alumnae Chapter and a past president of the Baltimore Delta Alumnae Foundation.

A graduate of Coppin State University she resides in Baltimore County with her husband, Vallen L. Emery Jr. and they are the proud parents of three adult sons, Vallen III, Tyrone and Ryan.

There are no comments at this time.