The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) has announced the winners of the 2013 Living Legacy Award. The winners will be honored and presented with their awards at ASALH’s 87th Annual Black History Month Luncheon on Feb. 23 at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The theme of this year’s celebration is “At the Crossroads of Freedom and Equality: The Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington.” The keynote speaker for the luncheon is Dr. Mary Frances Berry, a recipient.

The winners are:
Dr. Mary Frances Berry-educator, author, lecturer
Ms. Camille Billops-visual artist
Dr. Pauletta Brown Bracy-librarian
Ms. Minnijean Brown Trickey-Little Rock 9 member
Ms. Marquetta L. Goodwine-preservationist, author
Ms. Eloise Greenfield-children’s author
Ms. Antoinette Harrell-documentary producer
Dr. Olivia Hooker-U.S. Coast Guard pioneer
Dr. Lyn Hughes-museum founder and curator
Ms. Dorothy Jones-community development leader
Ms. Cheryl Knox-track and field coach
Ms. Naomi Long Madgett-Poet Laureate
Ms. LaToya Lucas-author, motivational speaker
Dr. Margaret Moore-educator
Ms. Mary Moultries-activist and labor leader
Ms. Newatha Myers-historian
Ms. Consolee Nishimwe-Rwandan war survivor
Ms. Florence Tate-journalist, civil rights activist
Dr. Najmah Thomas-workforce administrator
Ms. Camilla P. Thompson-historian and educator