Democrat John Delaney on Tuesday night was poised to end Rep. Roscoe Bartlett’s 10-term reign in the U.S. House of Representatives on an election night that otherwise featured no surprises among Maryland’s federal races.

Bartlett, the 86-year-old Buckeystown resident who has represented
Maryland’s 6th Congressional District since 1993, fell to 35 percent after about one-third of precincts had reported their results. Delaney captured 62 percent, with Libertarian candidate Nickolaus Mueller taking about 3 percent.

In the presidential contest, as in 2008, Maryland awarded its 10 electoral votes to President Barack Obama, who, two hours after polls closed at 8 p.m. led Mitt Romney with 68 to 30 percent of the vote.  Maryland was never expected to be in play, and neither candidate spent any time on the campaign trail in the state.

The other incumbents in Maryland’s congressional delegation were also re-elected by comfortable margins. Minutes after the polls closed, Democratic first-term Sen. Ben Cardin was projected to win the three-way race against Republican Dan Bongino, a former U.S. Secret Service agent, and independent candidate Rob Sobhani, a businessman who funneled more than $6 million into his own campaign.

Maryland continues to be one of the most Democratic states in the country, having cast its electoral votes for the Democratic candidate in the last six presidential elections.

Delaney, a financier who in 2000 founded the commercial lending bank
CapitalSource, defeated state Sen. Rob Garagiola, D-Montgomery, in a primary battle that drew a host of candidates from both parties to compete in a 6th District made competitive through redistricting. Delaney outraised Bartlett by a 4-to-1 margin, contributing more than $2 million of his own wealth to the campaign.

Should Bartlett be unseated, Delaney would accomplish Maryland Democrats’ objective of picking up a seventh seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. Gov. Martin O’Malley and Democrats in the General Assembly shifted Bartlett’s district farther into Montgomery County and away from traditionally Republican territory in northern Maryland, erasing the Republican’s advantage among registered

The new District 6 congressman’s path to re-election in 2014 could have been thrown into uncertainty if voters had rejected Question 5, which put the new congressional districts to a popular vote. The map would then have been sent back to Democrats in Annapolis, who would have had to come up with a new plan to be implemented for the 2014 elections. Early results showed the redistricting plan with a solid lead among voters.

Gary Featheringham, a precinct chairman for the Montgomery County Republican Party, voted against the new congressional districts at Stone Mill Elementary School in North Potomac. He said the redistricted map was a blatant attempt to “throw Bartlett out of office.”

In the remaining congressional races, the Associated Press projected the incumbents would win re-election minutes after the polls closed.  Early voting results showed the incumbents winning by significant margins.

Rep. Andy Harris, R-Cockeysville, won his first re-election campaign against Democratic write-in candidate John LaFerla, who replaced Wendy Rosen after she admitted she voted in both Florida and Maryland in two different elections.

Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger, D-Cockeysville, won a sixth term in the 2nd District after defeating Nancy Jacobs, a Republican state senator representing Cecil and Harford counties.

Rep. John Sarbanes, D-Towson, defeated Republican Eric Knowles in the 3rd District.

In the 4th District, Rep. Donna Edwards, D-Fort Washington, defeated Republican Faith Loudon.

House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, D-Mitchellsville, raised more than $4 million for his 17th congressional campaign — the most of any House candidate in Maryland. He defeated Republican Delegate Tony O’Donnell, whose district includes Calvert and St. Mary’s counties.

Rep. Elijah Cummings, D-Baltimore, the ranking member of the House
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, defeated Frank Mirabile
Jr. in a rematch of their 2010 race in the 7th District.

In the 8th District, which picked up thousands of Bartlett’s supporters in northern Maryland, Rep. Chris Van Hollen, D-Kensington, who plays an influential role as the ranking member on the House Budget Committee, defeated Republican Ken Timmerman, an author and journalist.