On July 1, Delaware State University celebrated its 20th anniversary as being a full-fledged university.

On that same day in 1993, the institution changed its name from Delaware State College to Delaware State University thanks to a legislation signed by former Gov. Thomas R. Carper.

The milestone took place in the institution’s 102th year of existence and was primarily attributed to the presidencies of Dr. Jerome Holland (1953-1960), Dr. Luna I. Mishoe (1960-1987) and Dr. Williams B. DeLauder (1987-2003), who guided the institution from its challenging years of the early 1950s to becoming a prominent state university.

Now in its 122nd year, DSU is now ranked 13th among Historically Black Colleges and Universities, according to the annual survey by U.S. News and World Report.  Currently the University offers 52 bachelor’s degree programs, 25 master’s degree programs and five doctoral degree programs.

The University’s research portfolio continues to soar in the areas of optics, neuroscience, chemistry, natural resources programs, agriculture and other disciplines as well. Optics and Neuroscience faculty have attracted more than $25 million in grants in the last three years.

Twenty years ago, DSU’s enrollment was 3,301. By the fall 2012, the student population DSU had grown to 4,425.

The institution was established in 1891 as the State College for Colored Students; the state legislature changed its name to Delaware State College in 1947.