Five new members were appointed to Morgan State University’s Board of Regents and two were reappointed recently. The Board, which sets admission standards, reviews and approves university policies and budgets is made up of 15 people who are appointed to five-year terms by Maryland Governor Larry Hogan. The appointments must be approved by the legislature when it goes back into session in January.

The board members who were replaced were Franklin Edmonds, retired senior vice president, Xerox Supplies Business Group; former Maryland State Senator Laurence Levitan, partner, Rifkin, Weiner, Livingston, Levitan & Silver; Dallas Evans, managing director, Landmark Atlantic; Eleanor M. Carey, partner, Synergies Consulting Group. All except for Carey were long-standing members.

The student representative, who serves for one year and is known as the student regent, was also replaced. Sarai Nwagbaraocho takes the place of Latichia Perine.

The new board members are Tracey L. Parker-Warren, administrative law judge, Office of Administrative Hearings; Marquis T. Walker, post-doctoral fellow, The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine; Shelonda Stokes, president and CEO, greiBO media; Winston A. Wilkinson, chief of staff, Maryland Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives. Parker-Warren and Wilkinson were named on Oct. 23 while Walker and Stokes were named on Nov. 3. The appointments are retroactive to July 1. All of the new board members are Morgan grads.

Dr. Shirley Malcom, head of The Directorate for Education and Human Resources Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science and Dr. Linda Gilliam, chairperson of the board of directors, Gilliam Foundation were both reappointed.

Other notable board members include: Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD); Rev. Frances “Toni” Draper, pastor of Freedom Temple AME Zion Church, vice chair of the Morgan board; Tyrone Taborn, publisher, chairman and CEO of Career Communications Group; Larry Ellis, four star general, U.S. Army (ret.). Former Congressman and President and CEO of the NAACP Kweisi Mfume is the chairman of the board.

In a statement to the AFRO, Mfume said, “I am pleased to welcome the new board appointees and very much look forward to working with them.”