Leaders in Prince George’s County have officially been chosen regarding Election Day. (Photo Courtesy)

By Deborah Bailey,
AFRO D.C. Editor

Angela Alsobrooks soared above her contenders on Primary Election Day to secure the Democratic nomination for a second term as Prince George’s County Executive.  Alsobrooks faced competition from Sherman Hardy, Tonya Sweat, Leigh Bodden and Billy W. Bridges, yet walked away with 90 percent of the total vote. 

Alsobrooks was able to secure the trust of county residents for a second term with promises delivered on bringing new behavioral, cancer and comprehensive critical care facilities to the area. Prince George’s County often outranks all other counties in Maryland in morbidity and mortality rates for major illnesses.  

Prince George’s County State’s Attorney, Aisha Braveboy, is on her way to a second term,  running unopposed.  

County residents chose John D.B. Carr to succeed retiring Prince George’s Sheriff Melvin C. High as  Democratic candidate for their next sheriff.  Carr scored 48 percent of the vote in a crowded field of contenders. 

County Council Races*

Calvin Hawkins, Jr. and Mel Franklin are on their way to securing the Democratic nomination for County Council at Large seats, having both secured more than 30 percent of the total vote in a crowded field of candidates. 

Leaders in Prince George’s County have officially been chosen regarding Election Day. (Photo Courtesy)

District County Council winners are listed below. Two finalists are listed when candidates are within three percentage points of one another.  The County will tally 28,000 mail-in ballots as the AFRO goes to press.  

District 1 – Tom Dernoga (ran unopposed)

District 2 – Wanika Fisher (49 percent) and Victor Ramirez (46 percent)

District 3 – Eric C. Olsen (53 percent)

District 4 – Ingrid S. Harrison (51 percent)-    

District 5 – Jolene Ivey (ran unopposed) 

District 6 – Wala Blegy (31 percent) and Denise G. Smith (28 percent)

District 7 – Krystal Oriadha (57 percent)

District 8 – Edward Burroughs III (72 percent)

District 9 – Sydney Harrison (68 percent)

*Data retrieved from Maryland State Board of Elections 

Help us Continue to tell OUR Story and join the AFRO family as a member – subscribers are now members!  Join here!