Annapolis, Maryland- May 8, 2013- Carl O. Snowden, chairman of the non-profit community based Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Committee, announced that May 31 will be the last day that citizens can submit names of living or deceased members of the community to be inscribed on the Civil Rights Foot Soldiers Memorial, which will be dedicated on August 28.

The Civil Rights Foot Soldiers Memorial honors those men and woman who attended the 1963 March on Washington.

The 1963 rally drew a diverse group of citizens from Anne Arundel County and the State of Maryland including Anne Arundel County Circuit Court Clerk Robert P. Duckworth, former Annapolis mayor Roger W. Moyer, Sr., community activist Gertrude “Trudi” McGowan, Cambridge’s civil rights activist Gloria Richardson and the late Anne Arundel County NAACP leader Walter Blasingame among others.

“This memorial is designed to honor the ‘foot soldiers’, whose marching feet literally changed the course of American history”, said Mr. Snowden. The $50,000 memorial is being paid for by private donations.

Individuals and organizations who wish to submit names for the memorial may do so by sending an email to or mailing them by May 31 to the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Committee, P.O. Box 371, Annapolis, Md. 21404

The Civil Rights Foot Soldiers Memorial is part of a trilogy of memorials that the MLK Committee has created in Maryland.

The other memorials are the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial located at Anne Arundel Community College and the Coretta Scott King Memorial Garden located on the Edgewater campus of Sojourner Douglass College. These memorials are the only memorials to Dr. King and Coretta Scott King in Maryland.

The August 28 dedication is expected to draw hundreds of citizens and expected to be in attendance are Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler, County Executive Laura Neuman and Mayor Josh Cohen.

For more information call 410-269-1524 or visit the website