Maryland’s 8th District

For Immediate Release

June 8, 2015

CONTACT:  Bridgett Frey – 202-225-5384

Ian Jannetta – 202-225-1527

Van Hollen Announces U.S. Service Academy Graduates and Appointees

Rockville, MD – Today Maryland Congressman Chris Van Hollen announced the names of the Eighth Congressional District’s 10 graduates from the Class of 2015 from the U.S. Service Academies, as well as the names of the 10 students who have accepted appointments for this year’s entering class. The names follow below.



United States Military Academy

2LT Carl Thomas Adams, Kensington, MD

2LT Rex Jason Griffin, Silver Spring, MD

2LT Stephen Patrick Snyder, Woodbine, MD

United States Naval Academy

ENS Julia Margaret Hardgrove, Bethesda, MD

ENS Norris Stephen Philleo, Bethesda, MD

ENS John O’Neil Hogan, Chevy Chase, MD

ENS Peter Ryan Lutter, Bethesda, MD

ENS Eric Tipton Myers, Bethesda, MD

United States Coast Guard Academy

ENS Ryan James Hub, Woodsboro, MD

United States Merchant Marine Academy

ENS Mary-Riley Cecilia Huelbig, Potomac, MD


United States Military Academy

Kate Claudia Campbell, Silver Spring, MD

Michael Patrick Singer, Eldersburg, MD

George Logan West, Bethesda, MD

United States Naval Academy

David Grant Edelstein, Chevy Chase, MD

Andrew Richard Merchant, North Potomac, MD

William Alexander Gould, Bethesda, MD

Marco Andres Patzy, Silver Spring, MD

Patrick Brian Moore, Middletown, MD

United States Air Force Academy

Het Manish Desai, College Park, MD

Daniel Hyun Yook, Rockville, MD

Congressman Van Hollen is now accepting applications for high school students seeking nominations for the class of 2020. Students wishing to attend one of the Uniformed Service Academies beginning in the 2016-2017 school year can obtain an application at