Maryland’s congressional representatives from Baltimore City, Baltimore County and Prince George’s County are all heavily favored to hold onto their seats in the U.S. House of Representatives despite challenges in some of the districts.

In District 2 of Baltimore County U.S. Rep. C.A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger, ranking member of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence has held his seat since 2003. The former Baltimore County executive, who tantalized some political observers with the possibility that he might run for governor has one primary opponent, Blaine Taylor. In 2012, Taylor sought the senate seat of Ben Cardin, garnering a little more than 4,300 votes.

In District 3, which encompasses Annapolis, parts of Baltimore City and Baltimore County, Howard, Anne Arundel and Montgomery counties, Rep. John Sarbanes is running unopposed in the democratic primary.

In District 4, incumbent Rep. Donna Edward captured her seat after winning a special election in 2008, defeating 15-year incumbent Albert Wynn making her the first Black woman to represent Maryland in the U.S. Congress.

She is being challenged by Christopher Warren, a retired Army Lt. Colonel originally from Holy Trinity, Ala.

In Maryland’s venerable 7th Congressional District, Rep. Elijah Cummings, who won the seat previously held by Kweisi Mfume and Parren J. Mitchell in 1996, is one of the highest profile Black members of Congress. As ranking minority member of the House Oversight Committee, Cummings battles with Republican Chairman Darryl Issa have been much publicized.  Cummings will face two challengers in the democratic primary on June 24.

In 2012, Bryant Alexander – one of the candidates for Cummings’ seat – ran as an independent for Maryland’s U.S. Senate seat but, ultimately failed to submit the required nomination petition.

The other democratic primary candidate for the Seventh District is Howard County resident Fred Donald Dickson Jr.