Three Morgan State University students will get tuition help because of their outstanding academic excellence.


Oreoluwa Adesina, Hashmath Fathima and Dennis Aryee were all recognized as Extreme Science Scholars by the school this September.

The program is part of the school’s Extreme Science Internship program, which allows students to research alongside Morgan faculty during the school year. It is open to graduate or undergraduate students who are pursuing a degree in math, science, engineering or technology.

“This program represents an investment in the future generation of scientists and engineers within the state of Maryland who will hopefully go onto careers in the government, academia and industry,” the school said in a press release.

The program is funded by the Army Research Laboratory.  

The ceremony was hosted by Dr. Alvin Kennedy, interim dean of Morgan’s School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences; with special guests, Dr. Lori Graham-Brady, associate director of the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute at Johns Hopkins University, and Dr. John Beatty, senior materials researcher at the Army Research Laboratory.