By Hamil R. Harris, Special to the AFRO

It was a big night for the incumbents in the District of Columbia as Mayor Muriel Bowser, Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton and D.C. Council Chair Phil Mendelsen were all re-elected, as well as at-large council members Anita Bonds and Elissa Silverman.

Council members Brianne Nadeau (D-Ward 1), Mary Cheh (D-Ward 3), Kenyan McDuffie (D-Ward 5) and Charles Allen (D-Ward 6) were also re-elected as well as Attorney General Karl Racine (D) and D.C. Shadow Senator Michael Brown (D).

Councilman Kenyan McDuffie (D-5) and Mayor Muriel Bowser with 104- year-old Ward 5 resident Margaret Norwood who voted thanks to the Mayor and her campaign manager Malik Williams providing transportation to the poll and Ward 5 Dems Chair of Voter Registration/5A ANC Gordon-Andrew Lee Fletcher-Esq who alerted officials Norwood wanted to vote.  (Courtesy Photo)

“Hello D.C. I thought we just had an election. Hello D.C.,” yelled Bowser who became the first Mayor to be re-elected to office in 16 years. “I could not have done this without your love and support.”

Bowser received 159,820 votes to beat Ann Wilcox (I)her closest challenger who got 19,728 votes. The other contenders included Dustin Canter (I) 14,570 votes, and Martin Moulton (L), who received 7,070 votes.

D.C. Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D) received 185,535 votes to trounce Republican challenger Nelson Rimensnyder (R) who got 9,0174 votes.

The fact that the Democrats took over the House of Representatives means that Norton will have new power on Capitol Hill and during a joint acceptance news conference Norton said, “I can say now- D.C. we are going to take back the House of Representatives.”

Shadow Senator Brown received 166,983 to beat Eleanor Ory (I) who got 30,99 votes.

In the Council Chairman’s race, Mendelson (D) received 185,578 votes to beat   Ethan Bishop-Henchman (L) who got 17,528 votes. In the  at-large Council race  Anita Bonds (D) was the top voter getter with 142,266 followed  Elissa Silverman (I) who came in second with 85,330 votes.  Dionne Reeder (I) who was supported by the Mayor, came in third with 46,268 votes, followed by David Schwartzman (I), 24,59, Ralph Chittams (R)11,703 and Rustin Lewis (I)7,850.

The District also held nonpartisan elections for Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANC). The 40 commissions, stretch across the District’s eight wards and are filled with neighborhood lawmakers who each represent 2,000 people.