Beltsville, Md. – The efforts of local educators that use non-traditional ways of inspiring a love of learning in their students were recognized by the Alpha Kappa Alpha – Educational Advancement Foundation of the North Atlantic Region – Cluster One at its Community Education Awards Luncheon on Jan. 29 the Sheraton Washington North in Beltsville, Md.

The mission of the Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF) is to pursue and promote lifelong learning, which the Foundation helps facilitate through scholarships, fellowships and community assistance awards. And the purpose of the Luncheon was not only to celebrate the nine local awardees but also to raise funds for the Foundation’s “Capture The Promise” Scholarship Fund. Since 1980, EAF has awarded $1.7 million, a reflection of the sorority’s commitment to educational endeavors for more than a century.

The award recipients represented the nine geographic areas that make up Cluster One of the North Atlantic Region of the sorority. They were: Tom Lewis, The Fishing School, Washington, D.C.; Rev. Christopher Tobias, Open Arms for Families, Inc., Prince George’s County, Md.; Judy W. Estep, Charles County School District, Charles County; Tina Morrison, Bryant Woods Elementary School – HCPSS, Howard County; Arthur B. Tyler, Frederick County Public Schools, Frederick County; Cheryl Smith, Strathmore Elementary School, Montgomery County; Pastor Howard Wright, Grace African Methodist Episcopal Church, Baltimore County; Rev. Herbert W. Watson, St. Mark United Methodist Church, Anne Arundel County; and Sophia Rudisill, Middle Grades Partnership, Baltimore City.