Three BCPS students earn McCormick student-athlete scholarships, including $40,000 top prize

47 BCPS students honored as McCormick Unsung Heroes

Towson, MD – Logan Welsh of Patapsco High School & Center for the Arts has earned the prestigious 2020 Charles Perry McCormick Scholarship, valued at $40,000 over four academic years. Mike Reid of Owings Mills High School and Korianna Skinner of Parkville High School each earned $5,000 scholarships through McCormick’s Unsung Heroes program to honor Baltimore area student-athletes.

The McCormick Unsung Heroes program honors deserving student-athletes across all sports. A total of 114 high school seniors from 69 Baltimore area public, private, parochial, and independent schools were nominated this year, including 47 students from 24 Baltimore County public high schools. Welsh was one of two honorees to receive the 2020 Charles Perry McCormick Scholarship, valued at $40,000. Reid and Skinner received both $5,000 scholarships awarded this year.

The complete list of nominated students from BCPS follows:

Catonsville High School – Lily Mellendick and Evan Rogers

Chesapeake High School – Narcis Eustacia and Lance Haley

Dulaney High School – Emma Chandler and Owen Campbell

Dundalk High School – Alyson Marshall and Joseph Delveccieo

Eastern Technical High School – Paris Morton and Matthew Haines

Franklin High School – Kate Lorber and Max Holzman

George Washington Carver Center for Arts & Tech. – Sierra Raspa and Rahzel Khalif

Hereford High School – Zoa Nicholson and John Wickiser

Kenwood High School – Jada Malone and Austin Boothe

Lansdowne High School – Madison Williams and Jacob Lipscomb

Loch Raven High School – Julie Rose and Mason Ayotte

Milford Mill Academy – Gia Edge and D’Andre Irby, Jr.

New Town High School – Samuel Okezie-Imo

Overlea High School – Katelyn Glendon and Jerome Vonziah

Owings Mills High School – Maritriny Galvez-Ceron and Mike Reid

Parkville High School – Korianna Skinner and Da’Vaughn Curbeam

Patapsco High School – Logan Welsh and Cameron Hood

Perry Hall High School – Amanda Butz and Kaleb Todjo

Pikesville High School – Frances Glover-Bey and Rodney Olid

Randallstown High School – Jadia Roney and Syncere Brown

Sparrows Point High School – Alaina Clay and Nathan Wynne

Towson High School – Kendall Fragetta and Nicholas Miller

Western School of Tech. & Env. Science – Troi Williams and Noah Peters

Woodlawn High School – D’Jahana Smith and George Washington

The 80th annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Ceremony, presented by McCormick & Company, Inc., was held virtually on May 11. In lieu of a keynote speaker, the student-athletes being honored heard a congratulatory message from Justin Tucker, kicker for the Baltimore Ravens. Sports radio personality Scott Garceau, of 105.7 The Fan, served as emcee for the event, and music was provided by DJ Kopec, the official DJ for the Baltimore Ravens Cheerleaders.

The Unsung Heroes program recognizes unselfish student-athletes and honors those who substantially contribute to the success of their school without receiving acclaim. Originally established in 1940 by former McCormick & Company Chair Charles P. McCormick Sr., the program is reflective of McCormick & Company’s core belief in The Power of People.