The Bowie State University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics concluded its 2009-2010 athletic year May 2 with its 10th Annual Awards Banquet at Florian Hall.

Athletic as well as academic awards were presented to members of each of Bowie State’s athletic teams.

The evening began with a message from Marie Brown, a 1989 Bowie graduate. She is currently a professor in the university’s Communications Department.

Highlights of the evening included the presentation of 68 student-athletes with a 3.0 or better grade point average for the 2009 fall semester, the 2009-2010 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year – Maya Newman, who earned a 4.0 GPA, and Jamin Gallman – and the Female and Male Athletes of the Year – Shalai Tabor and Duke Crews.

Other awards presented included Most Valuable Player or Coaches Awards to the following: Michelle Brown for cheerleading, Clifton Budd for football offense, Sterling Grant-Jones for football defense, Gregory Jackson for football special teams, Breaun Garner for volleyball, Bianca Lee and Teaunsha Robinson for women’s basketball, Duke Crews for men’s basketball, Shamika Patton for women’s cross country, Damien Montgomery and Daryl Sanders for men’s cross country, Lakisha Carney for women’s indoor track and field, William Bailey and Sean Johnson for men’s indoor track and field, Lakisha Carney and Shayla Davis for women’s outdoor track and field, Byron Lewis and Jamin Gallman for men’s outdoor track and field, Kyara Lombre for women’s tennis, Verra Diggs for women’s bowling and Danielle McClay and Shalai Tabor for softball.