Freshman U.S. Rep. Anthony Brown (D) was sworn into the U.S. House of Representatives on Jan. 3 and he hasn’t stopped working since then. “This is a fast-paced environment here,” Brown told the AFRO Jan. 17 from his office in the Longworth House Office Building on Capitol Hill.

Democrat Anthony Brown represents the Fourth Congressional District of Maryland in the U.S. House of Representatives. (Courtesy Photo)

The Fourth Congressional District is located in much of Prince George’s County and parts of Anne Arundel County. It consists of areas such as Suitland, Capitol Heights, Temple Hills and Laurel in Prince George’s and Pasadena, Crofton and Arnold in Anne Arundel.

Brown was elected in Nov. 8, 2016 general election. Before his election to the Congress, Brown served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1999-2007 and as Maryland’s lieutenant governor from 2007-2015. He was nominated by the Democratic Party for governor in 2014 but lost to Republican Larry Hogan.

Brown hadn’t been in office a full month before he took his first controversial stand as a federal lawmaker. On Jan. 16, Brown announced he would not attend the inauguration ceremony of Donald J. Trump on Jan. 20 because of Trump’s stand on issues dealing with women and minorities and his insulting comments about civil rights icon Rep. John Lewis.

“I thought long and hard about this,” Brown said. “I was thinking about this and consulting colleagues on not attending the inauguration long before Lewis was insulted. I went along with the consensus of some of my colleagues because there have been two years of disrespectful comments from Trump.”

Brown said the Lewis Twitter message “was the tipping point.”

“Trump insulted John Lewis the civil rights icon John Lewis the congressman,” Brown said.

“Trump needs to learn the office of congressman and earn the respect of Congress.”

Brown said on Jan. 20, he will be in his district serving his constituents. “Constituent service is priority number one,” he said. “We already have casework that needs to be done. This is a district work week, where the House isn’t in session.”

Constituent services are just one of the priorities for Brown. He was appointed to the Armed Services and Natural Resources Committees, assignments he likes. “I am an U.S. Army veteran and Joint Base Andrews is in my district,” he said. “While Fort Myer isn’t in my district, a number of my constituents work there. I also can rely on my experience as lieutenant governor working with the Base Realignment Commission.

“I have a great understanding of what veterans need. the Natural Resources Committee, I will do what I can to protect the Chesapeake Bay, the second largest estuary in the world next to the Baltic Sea. Its tributaries need to be protected and preserved.”

Brown said he will work with political leaders such as Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker III and Anne Arundel Executive Steve Schuh, as well as the Maryland House and Senate delegations and the municipalities in Prince George’s to be the most effective lawmaker he can be. “I have some strong advantages coming to Congress being a former lieutenant governor and state legislator,” he said. “House leaders have told me that they like governors and lieutenant governors come to Congress because they bring a different perspective to legislating. Whether governing or legislating, you have to reach consensus and common ground.”

Democrats boycotting Trump’s inauguration:

  1. Georgia Rep. John Lewis
  2. Texas Rep. Al Green
  3. California Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard
  4. Minnesota Rep. Keith Ellison
  5. Tennessee Rep. Steve Cohen
  6. California Rep. Mark Takano
  7. New York Rep. Yvette Clarke
  8. California Rep. Ted Lieu
  9. New York Rep. Jerrold Nadler
  10. Arizona Rep. Raul Grijalva
  11. Michigan Rep. John Conyers
  12. California Rep. Mark DeSaulnier
  13. New York Rep. Nydia Velazquez
  14. Oregon Rep. Kurt Schrader
  15. Missouri Rep. William Lacy Clay
  16. California Rep. Barbara Lee
  17. New York Rep. Jose Serrano
  18. California Rep. Judy Chu
  19. Illinois Rep. Luis Gutierrez
  20. California Rep. Jared Huffman
  21. Massachusetts Rep. Katherine Clark
  22. Oregon Rep. Earl Blumenauer
  23. New York Rep. Adriano Espaillat
  24. Washington Rep. Pramila Jayapal
  25. Wisconsin Rep. Mark Pocan
  26. Ohio Rep. Marcia Fudge
  27. California Rep. Maxine Waters
  28. New Jersey Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman
  29. Maryland Rep. Anthony Brown
  30. Virginia Rep. Don Beyer
  31. Maine Rep. Chellie Pingree
  32. Kentucky Rep. John Yarmuth
  33. California Rep. Karen Bass
  34. Pennsylvania Rep. Dwight Evans
  35. California Rep. Zoe Lofgren
  36. California Rep. Grace Napolitano
  37. California Rep. Raul Ruiz
  38. Washington Rep. Adam Smith
  39. Florida Rep. Darren Soto
  40. Arizona Rep. Ruben Gallego
  41. North Carolina Rep. G.K. Butterfield
  42. Texas Rep. Joaquin Castro
  43. California Rep. Tony Cárdenas
  44. Pennsylvania Rep. Mike Doyle
  45. North Carolina Rep. Alma Adams
  46. California Rep. Juan Vargas
  47. Pennsylvania Rep. Brendan Boyle
  48. Texas Rep. Lloyd Doggett
  49. California Rep. Jerry McNerney
  50. Illinois Rep. Jan Schakowsky
  51. Maryland Rep. Jamie Raskin
  52. Mississippi Rep. Bennie Thompson
  53. New Jersey Rep. Donald Payne
  54. New York Rep. Louise Slaughter
  55. Pennsylvania Rep. Robert Brady
  56. Florida Rep. Frederica Wilson
  57. Oregon Rep. Peter DeFazio
  58. Florida Rep. Alcee Hastings