Jordan Hamberg, a pitcher and outfielder from Coppin State University, has gained national recognition for his time as an Eagle. (Photos by Coppin State University)

By Special to the AFRO

Coppin State’s Jordan Hamberg of South Plainfield, N.J. has been named one of five finalists for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, it was announced by the College Baseball Foundation on May 31. Hamberg is joined by Georgia State’s Cameron Jones, Devin Ortiz of University of Virginia, Murray State’s Jacob Pennington and Paul Skenes of Air Force.

“All season long, trimming this list to semifinalists and now to finalists has proven very difficult due to the outstanding seasons put forth by all our two-way players. But these five finalists have differentiated themselves not only through the statistics they’ve racked up but by being leaders of their respective teams,” Olerud Award chairman, George Watson, said. “Each one of these finalists is more than deserving of this award.”

The award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this summer.

A sophomore from South Plainfield, N.J., Hamberg led the Eagles to its first NCAA Regional Appearance after its first MEAC Tournament title since 1995. Hamberg was named the MEAC Pitcher of the Year and received First Team All-Conference accolades at both starting pitcher and utility.

Hamberg led Coppin with a 6-2 record on the mound, recording a 4.04 earned run average in 12 starts while striking out a school-record 86 batters with just 33 walks in 62.1 innings of work. At the plate, Hamberg hit a team-high .355 with eight home runs and 34 RBI (runs batted in) while accumulating a 1.094 on-base plus slugging percentage (OPS).

Help us Continue to tell OUR Story and join the AFRO family as a member – subscribers are now members!  Join here!