In addition to District of Columbia voters overwhelmingly choosing Vincent Gray to assume the helm of city leadership over the next four years, they also favored At-large Councilman Kwame Brown to replace Gray as City Council chairman during this week’s General Election.

Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton, who ran unopposed, retained her post.  And councilmembers Phil Mendelson, Jim Graham, Mary Cheh, Harry Thomas, David Catania and Tommy Wells were re-elected. Swearing-in ceremonies for each post will take place in January. 

Additionally, a referendum that will allow the city’s attorney general to be elected – rather than appointed – passed as well.