The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) recently announced the 2014 Hall of Fame inductees. The eight will be honored at the 2014 Hall of Fame Induction and Reception Jan. 16, at The Newseum in Washington, D.C.  Moses Newson, a former AFRO reporter who covered landmark events during the civil rights era, is among the honorees.

Newson risked his life covering some of the most notable in American history. These events included the Emmett Till murder trial, school desegregation in Little Rock and the 1961 Freedom Rides.

He attended Storer College in Harpers Ferry, W.Va., and then transferred to Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Mo., where he graduated with a bachelor’s degree in journalism.

In 1952, Newson’s first job as a reporter came at the Tri-State Defender in Memphis. Newson left the Tri-State Defender for the Baltimore Afro-American, where he would be a reporter, city editor and ultimately executive editor for the final 10 of his 21 years at the newspaper. Newsom later left journalism to become a public affairs specialist for what was to become the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. After working for the government for 17 years, Newson retired at age 68.

Each year NABJ honors renowned African-American journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry. Since 1990, NABJ has inducted 55 distinguished journalists into the Association’s Hall of Fame.??

“The Board received a stellar group of recommendations. We are privileged to bestow honors on such an elite group of journalists,” said NABJ President Bob Butler.??

The NABJ Hall of Fame inductees are named by the Board of Directors based on recommendations from the Hall of Fame Committee, which is chaired by NABJ Founder Maureen Bunyan, Evening News Anchor, WJLA-TV.??

Bunyan is a 2014 inductee.??

“The board had previously wanted to induct founder Bunyan into the Hall of Fame but she declined because she felt her being the chair was a conflict of interest,” Butler said.??”But the board the felt the honor was long overdue and unanimously voted for her induction.”??

To view a full list of the NABJ’s 2014 Hall of Fame inductees, visit