The National Society of Pershing Rifles Alumni Association, headquartered in Washington, D.C., is presenting what promises to be an historical event as it honors Morgan State University graduates who retired as general officers.

Three of the 10 honored graduates were members of the National Society of Pershing rifles and participated on their crack drill teams. Honorees include Generals William “Kip” Ward, Larry R. Ellis, Major Generals Art Dean and Thomas Prather.

State Sen. Joan Carter Conway will be cited for her continuing community involvement and service. This event, The Commander’s 1st Annual “Black Jack” Legacy Awards will be held at The Forum Caterers, 6:30 p.m., March 16.

The National Society of Pershing Rifles was founded in honor of General of the Armies, John J. Pershing, in 1894 at the University of Nebraska. Highlighting this event will be the formal Change of Command Ceremonies as P/R LTG Lawrence K. Montgomery passes command of NSPRAA to incoming commander Brian R. Cox. Worthy of note is that members of the formal honor guard from MSU requested by the late President Kennedy for his inauguration as President, will be in attendance.