In honor of one of Baltimore’s venerable business icons, the late Raymond V. Haysbert Sr., Morgan State University hosted a naming ceremony of the boardroom in the Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management beginning on April 20.

Haysbert has been widely recognized in business and political circles as a tremendously successful entrepreneur, investor, activist, educator and mentor. A staunch advocate of the university, Haysbert received numerous awards including Baltimore Magazine’s Executive of the Year, Dow Jones Entrepreneur of the Year, the Thurgood Marshall Legacy Award and the Reginald F. Lewis Achievement Award.

Special guests included Joseph Haskins, Jr., chairman, president and CEO of The Harbor Bank of Maryland, Sen. Catherine E. Pugh, D-Dist.40 and Brian Haysbert. Dr. David Wilson, president of Morgan State and Dr. Otis A. Thomas, dean of the Earl G. Graves School of Business Management, presented remarks, which were followed by a reception.