Norfolk State senior center Kyle O’Quinn headlines the Boxtorow Division I HBCU All-American team. O’Quinn was voted the Boxtorow Division I National Player of the Year. In addition to being voted the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Player and Defensive Player of the Year, he also made the Boxtorow All-American first team for the second-straight year. He averaged 15.9 points per game and led the MEAC in rebounding (10.3) and blocked shots (2.7), while shooting 57 percent from the field. In the biggest game of his career, O’Quinn scored 26 points and pulled down 14 rebounds as Norfolk State, who entered the NCAA Division I Tournament as the No. 15 seed, defeated No.2 seed Missouri 86-84.

Joining O’Quinn in the frontcourt is Robert Covington of Tennessee State and Paul Crosby of Mississippi Valley State.

Covington was a first team All-OVC performer after averaging 17.8 points and 7.9 rebounds per game, while shooting 45 percent from three-point range. He also averaged 1.5 steals and 1.4 blocks per game. He ranked in the top five in the OVC in scoring (3rd), rebounding (2nd), steals (5th), three-point percentage (3rd), and blocked shots (4th). On February 9, Covington led the way with 17 points and eight rebounds, including a three-pointer that gave the Tigers the lead for good as

Tennessee defeated then undefeated and seventh-ranked Murray State 72-68.
Crosby was named Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Player of the Year after finishing sixth in the league in scoring (13.1), third in rebounding (7.4) and fourth in steals (1.6) in helping lead the Delta Devils to the SWAC regular season and tournament championships.

The backcourt consists of Tony Gallo of Coppin State, Darrion Pellum of Hampton and Jay Threatt of Delaware State.

Gallo tied for 2nd in the MEAC in scoring (17.1) and averaged 3.7 assists per game which was sixth in the league. His 2.7 three-point field goals made per game was 2nd in the MEAC.

Pellum led the MEAC in scoring (18.3) and scored 20 or more points in a game 14 times this season, while scoring 30 or more points three times.

Threatt led the MEAC in assists (6.0), steals (3.0), and assist to turnover ratio (3.1). Nationally he led the nation in steals, and was third in assist to turnover ratio. Threat also averaged 8.8 points per game.

Norfolk State’s Anthony Evans was tabbed Coach of the Year. He led the Spartans to a 26-10 mark, tops amongst HBCU Division I schools. He also helped the Spartans claim their first-ever MEAC Tournament Championship and NCAA Division I Tournament win. The second team backcourt is made up of Quincy Roberts of Grambling State, who led all Division I HBCU players in scoring (23.9), and Savalace Towsend of Arkansas-Pine Bluff. The frontcourt consists of Cor-J Cox of Mississippi Valley State, Quinton Doggett of Southern and Dominique Sutton of North Carolina Central.

This is the fourth year of the All-American team. The voters are made up of media members from around the country who cover NCAA Division I basketball.


Donal Ware

Special to the AFRO