The Prince George’s County Council had a change in leadership for the 2012 legislative year as Andrea Harrison, D.-Dist. 5, was named council chair while Eric Olson, D.-Dist. 3, reprises his role as vice-chair.

“Together as ‘One Prince George’s County,’ I believe that Prince George’s County Government can do even better by working smarter, more efficiently, streamlining how we do business, and helping to foster an environment that encourages growth,” Harrison said in a statement. “As Prince Georgians we face our challenges together.

And it will take all of us; elected officials, citizens and residents of Prince George’s County, business, non-profit, and faith communities, working together as a team to accomplish our goals and move our beloved County forward.”

Harrison, who replaces outgoing Chairwoman Ingrid Turner, D.-Dist. 4, was elected to the council in 2008 after David C. Harrington left the council when he was appointed state senator. She was reelected easily in last year’s primary election with over 69 percent of the vote.

Harrison is following in her father James Fletcher’s footsteps as well. Fletcher served on the council from 1990-1994 and was named vice chair.

Olson is serving his second term on the council and is in his second consecutive year as vice chair of the council. He was very instrumental in the development project of the New Carrollton Metro Station and is one of the leading voices on the council against slots in Prince George’s.

County Executive Rushern Baker congratulated the two on their honors and said he looked forward to moving ahead in transforming the county.

“One year ago today, I, along with the County Council, took an oath to serve this county,” Baker said in a statement. “We have a lot to be proud of and I believe that we established a great working relationship. A working relationship that enabled us to make history together. From the Hospital MOU to the recent passing of the Economic Development Investment Fund, we have taken bold steps together that will help to move this County forward.

“I am excited to welcome new Council Chair Andrea Harrison and congratulate Vice Chair Eric Olson on his reelection,” he continued. I am confident that by taking the lessons of last year and combining them with the hope of tomorrow we will continue to create opportunity for this County.”

Harrison and Olson will remain in their positions through Dec. 4, 2012.


George Barnette

Special to the AFRO