Comptroller Franchot to Honor Chestertown PD; Present Schaefer and Maryland Masters Awards

–    Franchot to Recognize Chestertown Police Department’s Service to Community    –

WHO:             Comptroller Peter Franchot

State and local elected officials

WHAT:           Comptroller Franchot will start his day in Kent County presenting a proclamation to the Chestertown Police Department for its commitment to serving the community. Accepting the honor will be Chestertown Police Chief G. Adrian Baker and members of his department.

The Comptroller then will present his 2015 William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award for Kent County to Lani Seikaly, who tirelessly has worked as chairman of the Chestertown RiverArts, and who has been a lecturer at Washington College and advocate for the arts at Kent County Public Schools. The Schaefer award, created by Comptroller Franchot four years ago, honors the legacy of public service exemplified by former Governor, Comptroller and Baltimore City Mayor William Donald Schaefer.

In the afternoon, the Comptroller will present his Maryland Masters Awards to three local students. They are: Alana Fithian-Wilson, a fifth grader at Rock Hall Elementary School, for a pencil drawing of a castle; Emily Spencer, a seventh grader at Kent County Middle School, for a colorful illustration of fall leaves; and Jennifer Quinn, a senior at Kent County High School, for a canvas painting of a lamp post. 

WHEN            Monday, May 18, 2015


WHERE:        10:15 a.m.                                                       11 a.m.

                        Chestertown Police Department                        Lani Seikaly, Kent County WDS

333 South Cross St.                                         Chestertown River Arts, Suite 106

Chestertown, MD 21620                                  315 High St., Chestertown, MD 21620

1:30 p.m.

Kent County MMA, Kent County Middle School

402 E. Campus Ave., Chestertown, MD, 21620

CONTACT:    Barbara Sauers 410-260-7438 (office), 410-212-9414 (cell)