Report for America today announced the placements of more than 300 journalists for its 2022-23 reporting corps. The cohort, which includes a number of corps members returning for a second or third year, will join the staffs of more than 200 local news organizations across all 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico and Guam.

The corps is diverse—nearly half are journalists of color and nearly two thirds are women. By better reflecting their communities, Report for America’s partner newsrooms will be better positioned to build trust with those they serve.

“Report for America provides a unique opportunity for journalists to pursue meaningful, local beat reporting that sadly is missing from many of today’s newsrooms,” said Earl Johnson, director of admissions at Report for America. “Together, our emerging and experienced corps members will produce tens of thousands of articles on critically under-covered topics—schools, government, healthcare, the environment, communities of color, and more.”

The new corps members include both a Pulitzer Prize winner and finalist, and recipients of the Catholic Press Award, Ortega y Gasset Journalism Award, Robert F. Kennedy College Journalism Award, College Media Association Pinnacle Award, and several collegiate and state press club awardees. Incoming corps members have also received honors from the Alliance of Women in Media Foundation, the National Association of Hispanic Publishers and Investigative Reporters and Editors, among others.

The group also includes career-changers and reporters with myriad talents, including: a former U.S. Air Force special agent, a theatrical performer, a carpenter with the Vermont Youth Conservation Corps, a standup comic, a former ecologist, a former chemist, a former wildland firefighter, a Teach for America corps member, and a Peace Corps volunteer who served in Senegal.

The cohort will begin their new assignments in June. The full list of 2022-23 corps members can be found here.

Help us Continue to tell OUR Story and join the AFRO family as a member – subscribers are now members!  Join here!