NORFOLK, Va. – Seventy-one Coppin State student-athletes were named to the 2021 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Commissioner’s All-Academic Team, presented by GEICO, it was announced by the league office on Friday afternoon.  The team honors student-athletes, including sophomores to seniors, with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better during the academic year.

“I am elated to congratulate our student-athletes who have maintained a 3.0 or better grade point average during this academic year,” Commissioner Dennis E. Thomas said. “I would like to commend the administrators, athletic academic support personnel, coaches and parents for their contributions to the academic success of these student-athletes. Thanks to GEICO for investing in recognizing the academic excellence of our student-athletes.”

Listed below are Coppin’s 2021 Commissioner’s All-Academic Honorees by sport:

Baseball (13)
Wellington Balsley
Giovanni Canales
Matt Day
Mike Dorcean
Devyan Dyal
Cole Gerula
Eddie Javier, Jr.
Rashad Ruff
Tim Ruffino
Toran Smith
Bradley Tuttle
Conner Walker
Grant Williams

Men’s Basketball (1)
Kyle Cardaci

Women’s Basketball (9)
Diamond Adams
Tyree Allen
Nailah Delinois
Marley Grenway
Aliyah Lawson
Unique Meyers
Jamila Mitchell
Abby Weiss
Rebecca Wilson

Bowling (3)
Kaylah Castillo
Jazzleen McRae
Sydney Tyler

Softball (11)
Melanie Aguilera
Maren Bernal
Nia Bowe
Desiree Carrizosa
Sydney Dombrowski
Alexis Genovese
Lynn Porter
Cindy Sanchez
Soraya Valdez-Frick
Ashley Weimann
Isabella Zalba

Men’s Tennis (6)
Christopher Green
Sergiu Medesan
Michael Michael
Quincy Pettis
Henrique Sada
Dean Waterman

Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country (9)
Jervonne Agard
Amadou Ba
Mauriel Carty
Jona Hanson
Joseph Manu
Jayeed Norbal
Abayie Opuni
Balvin Richards
Ivan Wiggins-Gram

Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country (10)
Latifa Ali
Kimani Alphonse
Claudina Constantine
Ivonna Hoskins
Cathryn Lane
Destinee McLeod
Kamillah Monroque
Alanna Newby
Janee Quailes
Shenelle Tomlinson

Volleyball (9)
Khala Cameron
Miajavon Coleman
DeMia Goddard
Salma Gonzalez
Rebekka Hauri
Sydney Hicks
Ashley Roman
Sydney Sheppard
Aislynn Weaver