Cheryl A. Hickmon, Delta Sigma Theta's National President and Chair of the National Board of Directors.

The Legacy of Cheryl A. Hickmon

Cheryl A. Hickmon, a beloved native of Hartford, Connecticut, was born on May 11, 1962, to the late Dr. Ned Hickmon and Consuella Anderson Hickmon. Her journey in Delta Sigma Theta began at South Carolina State University, where she was initiated through the Alpha Xi Chapter in 1982. Her commitment to Delta was apparent early on and led her to become Alpha Xi Chapter President (1983-1984) and South Atlantic Regional Representative (1984-1986). After matriculating at South Carolina State, Soror Hickmon returned to her home of Hartford, where she joined the Hartford Alumnae Chapter and eventually became Chapter President (2009 – 2013).

Her love for Delta was reflected throughout her 39 years of continuous service. Over the years, she held numerous elected and appointed positions at the national, regional, and local levels. Some of these positions include National First Vice President, National Secretary, Eastern Regional Director, South Atlantic Regional Representative, Chair of the National Scholarship and Standards Committee, Co-Chair of the National Leadership Academy, and Co-Chair of the National Documents Review and Revision Task Force. She had the distinction of attending every national convention since her initiation and participating in a total of 107 conventions and conferences throughout her lifetime. Being elected National President and Chair of the National Board of
Directors in November 2021 was the culmination of her life’s dream as a member of Delta Sigma Theta. 

We will honor the life of National President Cheryl A. Hickmon on FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 4, 2022

in Hartford, Connecticut

While the services will be held in person, safety protocols and a limited capacity for attendees will be enforced. A livestream of the services will be provided so that all sorors may virtually attend and pay tribute to our beloved Soror Hickmon.

See below for service details:

Omega Omega Service: 11:00 am EST | 10:00 am CST | 9:00 am MST | 8:00 am PST. Check Member Portal for more details. 

A Celebration of Life will immediately follow at 12:30 pm EST.