Senior forward Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and junior guard Moriah Jefferson each scored 15 points to lead the Connecticut  Huskies to a 63-53 win over the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship Game on April 7 in Tampa, Fla.

Connecticutplayers pose with the national championship trophy after the NCAA women’s Final Four tournament college basketball championship game against Notre Dame, Tuesday, April 7, 2015, in Tampa, Fla. Connecticut won 63-53. (AP Photo/Chris O’Meara)

The win marked Connecticut’s third straight national title, its fifth in the last seven years and the 10th in team history.
Mosqueda-Lewis and Jefferson were at their best offensively, but it was their defensive aggressiveness that contributed most to the victory. The Lady Huskies limited Notre Dame to just 23 points in the first half and forced 17 turnovers in the game, 10 of which were steals.

Connecticut (32-1) also dominated on the boards as junior forward Breana Stewart recorded a game-high 15 rebounds with eight points. Stewart was named the Final Four MVP, marking the third straight year she has earned that title; she is the only women’s college basketball player to ever win the honor three straight times.

Connecticut head coach Geno Auriemma also made history by tying legendary UCLA men’s basketball coach John Wooden for the most national titles won, with 10.

Freshman forward Brianna Turner led Notre Dame (31-2) with 14 points and 10 rebounds.