For the first time, the D.C. community will be able to submit nominations for the Courage Award presented at AIDS Walk, an annual fund-raising event on Oct. 2. The award is the most distinguished honor given by Whitman-Walker Clinic, an HIV advocacy and medical assistance clinic. Nominations are due Sept. 13.

The clinic presents the Courage Award annually at AIDS Walk to a person living with HIV or AIDS who has shown remarkable courage and leadership in the fight against the disease. Past recipients include the late Bob Hattoy, Patricia Nalls, Ron Simmons, Brent Minor and Shawn Decker.

“The Courage Award has a long tradition with AIDS Walk,” said Don Blanchon, executive director of Whitman-Walker, in a statement. “In the past, the recipient has been chosen without input from the community. This year, we want to modify the tradition and give the DC area community a chance to make their voices heard on who should be honored.”

Established in 1978, Whitman-Walker Clinic is a non-profit, community-based provider of health care in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area. Through two sites in the District of Columbia, the clinic offers primary medical and dental care; mental health and addictions counseling and treatment; HIV education, prevention, and testing; legal services; and medical adherence case management.

Guidelines and nomination forms are available on the AIDS Walk website,, and the Whitman-Walker Clinic website, For more information on AIDS Walk or to register, call 202-332-WALK or visit