By AFRO Staff

Lucy Diggs Slowe (1885 – 1937):

Lucy Diggs Slowe was appointed as the first dean of women at Howard University in 1922. This promotion would earn her a spot in history as the first Black female dean of women at an American University. This accomplishment came shortly after her founding of the first Black greek sorority, Alpha Kappa Alpha, alongside 15 other college-educated Black women.

Lucy Diggs Slowe (AFRO Archive Photo)

Lillie May Carroll Jackson (1889 – 1975):

Dr. Lillie May Carroll Jackson was born in Baltimore City, shortly after slavery had been abolished. Known as the “Mother of Freedom,” Dr. Jackson used non-violent strategies like picketing and protests in opposition of Jim Crow and discrimmination laws. It was through her leadership that the Baltimore branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), which would become the largest chapter in the country, was created.

(1969) A spirited Dr. Lillie May Carroll Jackson celebrating her 80th birthday. (AFRO Archive Photo)