By Ashleigh Fields,
AFRO Assistant Editor,

A sea of blue and white ascended onto the campus of Howard University as members of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority welcomed the newest and largest class of honorary members. Their 2023 induction took place in the Blackburn building on Sept. 19 with the objective to honor their five founders: Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, Fannie Pettie Watts and Pearl Anna Neal. 

“This is a historic moment for Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated being on the campus where we were founded 103 years ago,” said Stacie NC Grant, international president and CEO of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority. “We are elevating the work that we do in community and to expand our footprint on changing this world one person at a time on the tenets of scholarship, service, sisterhood and finer womanhood. I am elated and excited about what this moment means and how our founders are looking down from up above and seeing the vision that they started 103 years later go to another level.”

The sorority embraced members of their organization alongside representatives from Phi Beta Sigma fraternity. The two are the first and only to be constitutionally bound as a Divine 9 sorority and fraternity. 

“It is an honor to be able to include the brother’s of Phi Beta Sigma in this momentous occasion; it continues to speak volumes about our relationship and our bond together,” said Chris V. Rey, international president Chris V. Rey. “It shows that as we move through this life, we move together as a brother and sisterhood because we know that the individuals we are bringing into our organization are a part of a strategic movement for us as we continue to engage our community together as brothers and sisters.”

The event was widely attended by leaders who represent Zeta Phi Beta on a global scale. One soror traveled from the coast of Africa to be present and support new members. 

“This is my first time as President of the Liberia Zeta Chapter that I registered and was able to be here,” said Freda Koomson who revived the chapter in 2017. “I am so happy to be here at this special induction reception.”

Koomson joined many others in congratulating the newest initiates. 

The following members were inducted into the Alpha Omega Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority: 

Edna Cummings
Jericka Duncan
Dionne James
Jennifer “Jennie” Joseph
Chrisette Michele
Ann Nesby
Tina Rodriguez
Melinda Santiago
Rashida Tlaib
Debra Vines
Anita Wilson
Roslyn Young-Daniels