The Morgan State Lady Bears’ 4×100 relay team will move to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) track and field championship June 6 after scoring a ninth-place finish March 26 in 4×100 meter relay in the 2012 NCAA East Preliminary Round.

The relay team–junior Britney Wattley and sophomores Teyanna Green, Charisma Green and Ekundayo Sogbesan–ran a time of 44.92 to advance to the NCAA championship meet held June 6-9 at Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa.

Wattley placed 17th in the quarterfinal of the 200-meter dash in a time of 23.82, while Green (24.16) came in 29th during the preliminary round.

In other action, Monae Waller finished tied for 34th in the high jump with a height of 5-7 ¾. Teyanna Green placed 23rd (11.70) in the quarterfinal of the 100-meter dash and Sogbesan came in 18th in the quarterfinals of the 400-meter dash with a time of 53.61.

Morgan State head coach Neville Hodge applauded both the men and women track athletes at Morgan by stating that they had “proved themselves to be amongst the best in the East.”

Kevin Paige

Special to the AFRO