The gubernatorial primary election in Prince George’s County, Md. on June 24 drew a low number of voters, attributed to its scheduling alongside summer vacations.

However, politicians said those who did make it to the polls may have been particularly motivated to do so.

“I think any time that you have an election in June that follows schools closing and vacations it’s a really tough turnout season, but the fact is the number of voters who showed up today, showed up as high information voters,” Rep. Donna Edwards (D-Md.) said.

News outlets reported voter turnout statewide was approximately 21 percent; in Prince George’s County, just 12 percent of registered voters took part in the primaries.

The Democratic and Republican nominees will face each other in the general election on Nov. 4.

According to the Maryland Board of Elections, Lt. Governor Anthony Brown and his running mate, Howard County Executive Ken Ulman, won the county with 76.8 percent of the vote. Similarly strong performances across the state earned them the Democratic nomination; they face Republicans Larry Hogan and Boyed Rutherford in November.

In the Democratic primary races for Prince George’s County seats in the Maryland State Senate, the winners were:

  • Sen. Douglas J. J. Peters took District 23 with 77.1 percent of the vote;
  • Sen. Joanne C. Benson won District 24 with 56 percent,
  • Sen. Ulysses Currie claimed District 25 with 58.6 percent;
  • Sen. C. Anthony Muse won District 26 with 50.6 percent, and;
  • Sen. Victor Ramirez claimed the District 47 nomination with 68.6 percent.

Prince George’s County senate candidates who earned the nomination unopposed included Sen. Jim Rosapepe in District 21; Sen. Paul G. Pinsky in District 22; and Sen. Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. in District 27.

In Congressional races, Rep. Donna F. Edwards won Congressional District 4 with 89.6 percent of the vote, while Rep. Steny Hoyer was unopposed in Congressional District 5.

House of Delegates winning candidates were:

  • Barbara A. Frush for Legislative District 21 with 33.7 percent of the vote;
  • Alonzo T Washington for District 22 with 31.6 percent;
  • Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. for District 23A with 32.7 percent;
  • Carolyn J. B. Howard in District 24 with 22 percent;
  • Dereck E. Davis in District 25 with 25.7 percent;
  • Jay Walker in District 26 with 24.3 percent;
  • Michael A. Jackson in District 27B with 75.2 percent; and
  • Jimmy Tarlau in District 47A with 26.8 percent.

Delegates Geraldine Valentino-Smith of Legislative District 23A; James E. Proctor Jr. of District 27A and Council member Will Campos of District 47B were unopposed.

Aisha Braveboy was the county’s choice for Maryland Attorney General with 45.5 percent of the vote in a three-way race.  She ,however, finished last in statewide voting behind Del. Jon Cardin and State Sen. Brian Frosh, who won the nomination.